Pakistan Cup all set to kick off in Faisalabad today

FAISALABAD – After huge success of Pakistan Super League (PSL), Pakistan Cup following one-day international format is all set to get started in Faisalabad today (Tuesday).

Balochistan, Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Islamabad and Sindh teams are participating in the event.

In the opener match, Balochistan team players are ready to face Punjabians at 3pm today.

Proper arrangements have been ensured while the authorities have also directed to monitor the whole tournament that will conclude on May 1.

Balochistan will be led by Pakistan ODI skipper Azhar Ali. The team includes Babar Azam, Junaid Khan, Umar Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul and Bilawal Bhatti, Ijaz Ahmed and Taimur Azam will coach the Balochistan side.

Punjab will be led by star all-rounder Shoaib Malik. Malik’s squad includes left-handed opening batsmen Shan Masood and Salman Butt. Mohammad Rizwan, Asad Shafiq, Zulfiqar Babar, Ehsan Adil and Saad Nasim will also play for Punjab in the tournament. The team will be coached by former Pakistan wicket-keeper Atiq uz Zaman and Mautashim Rashid.

Led by Pakistan’s Test captain Misbah ul Haq, Islamabad will include Mohammad Sami, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Zafar Gohar and Sharjeel Khan. The team will be coached by Mansoor Rana and Sabih Azhar.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa will be led by star batsman Younus Khan. Encapuslating the true spirit of the Pakistan Cup, Khan’s selection for the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa side include promising cricketers Mohammad Asghar, Fakhar Zaman, Musaddiq Ahmed, Zohaib Khan and Faheem Ashraf. Pakistani leg-spinner Yasir Shah will mark a return to competitive cricket as he prepares himself to play for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in the domestic One Day tournament. Abdul Rehman and Kabir Khan will coach the KP side.

Sindh will be captained by newly-appointed national T20 skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed. Left-arm pacer Mohammad Amir was the first pick made by Sarfaraz. The team also includes Sohail Khan, Khalid Latif, Sohaib Maqsood, Fawad Alam, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali and Sami Aslam. Tauseef Ahmed and Iqbal Imam will coach the Sindh team.

Courtesy by:



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This